The Darfur Consortium

. . .
Custom essay writing service

ICJ Kenya

ICJ Kenya is a national section of the International Commission of Jurists based in Nairobi, Kenya and founded in 1959 as an offshoot of JUSTICE (the British Section of the International Commission of Jurists) in pre-independence Kenya. ICJ Kenya is represented in the Commission in Geneva by its former chairperson, Mr. Kathurima M’Inoti. Over 300 jurists’ members comprise the organization which is dedicated to the legal protection of human rights in Kenya, and the African region in terms of the general mandate for national sections defined by Article 4 of the ICJ Statute. ICJ Kenya is governed under a Constitution through an elected council of 7 members that serves for two-year fixed terms.

Members through a permanent secretariat fulfil the human rights work of the organization where a professional team of full time lawyers is in charge of programmatic activities under the oversight functions of the elected council. Currently, ICJ Kenya is implementing activities within four core programmatic areas under its Strategic Plan. ICJ Kenya enjoys observer status before the African Commission for Human and Peoples’ Rights and the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA), and in addition a participating civil society member of the New Partnership for Development in Africa (NEPAD). ICJ-Kenya is also a national representative CSO to the Economic Social and Cultural Council of the African Union (AU-ECOSOCC). ICJ Kenya is also a member of the Executive Committee of the Coalition for an Effective African Court (CEAC) and the Coalition for the International Criminal Court (CICC).

ICJ Kenya runs several programmes under its strategic plan including the Eastern African International Criminal Justice Initiative which seeks to popularize the International Criminal Court (ICC) and aspects of transitional justice in Eastern Africa through advocacy and engagement with the media, prosecutors, judicial officers and civil society among other stakeholders in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Sudan, Central African Republic and DRC on the domestication, ratification and enforcement of the Rome Statute.


African Voices


Join the Darfur Consortium

Sudanese Voices


Action Professionals Association for the People

Aegis Trust Rwanda

African Centre for Democracy and Human Rights Studies

African Center for Development

African Center for Justice and Peace Studies

Africa Internally Displaced Persons Voice (Africa IDP Voice)

African Security Dialogue and Research (ASDR)

African Women's Development and Communications Network (FEMNET)

Alliances for Africa

Amman Centre for Human Rights Studies

Andalus Institute for Tolerance

Anti-Slavery International

Arab Coalition for Darfur

Arab Program for Human Rights Activists

Association Africaine de Defense des Droits de l'Homme (ASADHO)

Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies

Centre for Minority Rights Development (CEMIRIDE)

Centre for Research Education and Development of Freedom of Expression and Associated Rights (CREDO)

Citizens for Global Solutions

Conscience International

Conseil National Pour les Libert?s en Tunisie

Darfur Alert Coalition (DAC)

Darfur Centre for Human Rights and Development

Darfur Leaders Network (DLN)

Darfur Reconciliation and Development Organization (DRDO)

Darfur Relief and Documentation Centre

East Africa Law Society

Egyptian Organization for Human Rights

Femmes Africa Solidarit?

La F?d?ration Internationale des Droits de l'Homme (FIDH)

Forum of African Affairs (FOAA)

Human Rights First

Human Rights Institute of South Africa (HURISA)

Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa

Institute for Security Studies

Inter-African Union for Human Rights (UIDH)


International Commission of Jurists (ICJ Kenya)

International Refugee Rights Initiative

Justice Africa

Justice and Peace Commission

Lawyers for Human Rights

Lebanese Association for Democratic Elections

Legal Resources Consortium-Nigeria

Ligue Tunisienne des Droits de l'Homme

Makumira University College, Tumaini University

Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA)

Minority Rights Group

National Association of Seadogs

Never Again International

Open Society Justice Initiative

Pan-African Movement

Rencontre Africaine Pour la Defense des Droits de l'Homme (RADDHO)

Sierra Leone STAND Chapter

Sisters' Arabic Forum for Human Rights (SAF)

Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project (SERAP)

Sudan Organization Against Torture (SOAT)

Syrian Organization for Human Rights

Unitarian Universalist Service Committee (UUSC)

Universal Human Rights Network


Women Initiative Nigeria (WIN)

©2017 Darfur Consortium. Design by Deirdre Reznik